Introducing Josie Junebug, World’s Best Dog

Plans for adding a dog to our family tentatively began when we bought our first home about a year ago. We’d always talked about having a dog eventually, and of course the kids wanted one. That big fenced in back yard almost should have come with a dog.

I figured it was only a matter of time, though I still dragged my feet. I already work full time, have two small children, my husband works weekends, and whatever “free” time I can seize is spent trying to accomplish anything that will allow me to legitimately stamp “author” on my tombstone. I had no illusions that anyone other than me would order dog food, put heart worm prevention reminders on the calendar, give baths, trim nails, scoop poop out of the yard, and so on.

I think what really fueled our timing was that my daughter had to switch schools this year, and it was incredibly tough on her. Her old school was too far for us to commute now, and though she qualified to attend their school for the gifted, it turns out, they were not that gifted at helping a struggling pre-reader with dyslexia. Leaving the only non-kin social group you have ever known is not easy; it was less so that her new school was a bit…rough around the edges. I thought that it might be curative for her to have a dog to come home to every day.

I spent a few months investigating various local breed rescues. There are certain breeds I am quite fond of (Greyhounds, Golden Retrievers, Shiba Inu, Doodles), and yet, I knew there was no way I was going to pay a breeder for a purebred puppy. I ran into some surprising dead ends.

“Will not place a dog in a home with a child under the age of 6.”

“We cannot adopt…where there is a child under the age of 5 in the house.”

Ok then…So, I took an online personality quiz at PawsLikeMe.com and matched with two local dogs. I emailed them to my husband, and he took the same quiz. We shared a match! We drove across town in the season’s first snow to meet her at Misty Eyes Rescue, and our application was approved.

On one hand, as a veterinary technician, I have been thinking of all the things that can go wrong: separation anxiety, aggression, expensive medical conditions. My reservations have kept us from having a dog for years.

Though still a tiny bit nervous, I’m now excited to bring her home. I have always pictured a dog in my “ideal life,” and part of me can’t believe I’ve waited so long. Time to follow this year’s intention and “Be brave enough to be the woman Good created me to be.”

Next, I need to really commit to finishing my first novel. So close to done, but an incomplete draft is useless. Rejections for other projects and stories continue to roll in.

tomorrow

 

Leave a comment about one of your “someday” brain pictures. Are you ready to take a step towards that life you always wanted for yourself?

Author: josiejunebug

Despite being a Leo and only child, I usually manage to be a pretty pleasant human being. I have devoted years of Zen discipline to harness my passionate inner lioness. Most succinctly, I am a philosophical master-list-making beer-guzzling Hippie Geek. I have been employed at a University parking office, numerous retail shops, as a data entry ghoul, and a veterinary technician. My journey has desensitized me to being snapped at and crapped upon, encouraging me to masochistically throw my heart into the world of attempted authorship.

1 thought on “Introducing Josie Junebug, World’s Best Dog”

Leave a Reply

